The cluster is an association in terms of Articles 60 et seq. of the Swiss Civil Code.

Its members come from the different fields of construction and energy:

  • Industrial (components or materials manufacturers)
  • Architects, general companies and design offices, craftsmen, technicians and builders
  • Education and research institutions
  • Other partners (professional associations; other national or international clusters, other actors in the domain)


The Building Innovation Cluster is composed of the general assembly, the Council, and any working groups. The Cluster is managed by the Director, the Cluster Development Manager and the back-office.

The General Assembly is the highest organ of the cluster and is composed of all members, each of whom is entitled to one vote. The Board convenes it at least once a year.

The Council is composed of 5 to 11 members representative of the membership groups and is elected for 2 years.

It is responsible for initiating and leading the cluster’s activities, if necessary by forming working groups.

The Director ensures the daily management of the cluster and facilitates the implementation of activities, under the control of the committee.

Committee Members

Eric Demierre

President – CEO
Edificiens SA

Pascal Barras

Director Groupe E Celcius SA

Flavio Foradini

Vice President – Director E4Tech Software SA

Werner Halter

Director Climate Services SA

Jean-Philippe Bacher

Professor HEIA-FR
Co-Manager Institute ENERGY

Anne-Claude Cosandey

Operational Director EPFL Fribourg

Gilbert Clément

Director Energil Sàrl

Christophe Ayer

Director subsidiary Fribourg

Building Innovation Cluster
Passage du Cardinal 11
1700 Fribourg